A R Bergstrom Prize in Econometrics

The objective of the Prize is to reward the achievement of excellence in econometrics, as evidenced by a research paper in any area of econometrics. The Prize is open to New Zealand citizens or permanent residents of New Zealand who, on the closing date of applications, have current or recent (i.e. within two years) student status for a higher degree. It is intended that the awardee will utilise the proceeds to assist in financing further study or research in econometrics in New Zealand or overseas.

The Prize can be awarded once every two years, with its value currently being $1000. The selection committee will consist of Professors P C B Phillips, V B Hall and their nominees.

NOTE: Payment of any monies will only be in NZ dollars, either by way of an NZ cheque made out to the awardee as the payee or a direct debit to a NZ bank account held in the name of the awardee.

The Prize is supported by funds generously provided by the following sponsors:

Institutional Sponsors
The New Zealand Association of Economists
The School of Business and Economics at the University of Auckland
The Department of Economics at the University of Canterbury
The Faculty of Commerce and Administration at Victoria University of Wellington
Lincoln University
The Economics Group, Commerce Division at Lincoln University

Personal Sponsors
C R Wymer
A D Brownlie
R J Bowden
H A Fletcher
R H Court
J A & D E A Giles
V B Hall
D M Emanuel
K B Nowman
P C B Phillips

In addition, royalties from the Festschrift Volume Models, Methods and Applications of Econometrics: Essays in Honour of A.R. Bergstrom, P.C.B. Phillips (ed.) Blackwell, Cambridge MA and Oxford UK, 1993, and from A Continuous Time Econometric Model of the United Kingdom with Stochastic Trends, by Albert Rex Bergstrom and Khalid Ben Nowman, Cambridge University Press, 2007, are applied to support the prize.


Previous winners

2023 – Daniel Watt
2021Livvy Mitchell
2019James Graham
2017Daan Steenkamp
2015Michelle Lewis
2012Isabelle Sin
2010David Baqaee
2007 – Melanie Morton
2005 – Ryan Greenaway-McGrevy, Leo Krippner
2003 – Chirok Han
2001 – Kerry Papps
1999 – Jun Yu
1996 – Matthew Ryan
1994 – Dean Hyslop, John McDermott
1992 – Alan Wan