NZARES-NZAE Joint ECR Virtual Workshop 2023

We are pleased to announce that NZARES and NZAE organize the first-ever Early Career Researcher (ECR) workshop this year on September 6, 2023. We define Early Career Researchers (ECR) as students at the undergraduate (honours), graduate (honours or masters), or post-graduate level and scholars within 5 years of receiving their Ph.D. This workshop offers a platform for ECRs to connect, receive feedback on their work, and build connections, albeit virtually. The ECRs focusing on agricultural economics, resource economics, environmental economics, development economics, farm management, agricultural systems, agricultural extension, and food marketing are encouraged to submit extended abstracts of their ongoing research. The day-long workshop will be divided into three parts. Part one will comprise a keynote presentation by Dr. Ana Manero, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU, highlighting the Opportunities and Challenges of publishing as an ECR. Part two will have three consecutive sessions with contributed papers. Each accepted paper will be allocated 15 minutes for presentation, followed by 5 minutes of questions and discussion. Part 3 will conclude with a panel discussion on the future of publishing academic papers and AGM of NZARES for 2023.

The organizing committee cordially invites interested students and scholars to submit their extended abstracts to by July 14, 2023, at 5:00 PM NZST. Authors will be informed about the acceptance of their submission by August 7, 2023. A 350-words extended abstract is required in the following format:

  1. Motivation/problem statement
  2. Purpose/Research Question(s)
  3. Method(s)
  4. Findings
  5. Policy Implications

We will award two prizes for the best presentation; NZD 1,000 for the best presenter and NZD 500 for the first-time presenter enrolled in an NZ University.

Organizing Committee:

  • Assoc. Prof. Nazmun N. Ratna, Lincoln University
  • Prof. Peter Tozer, Massey University
  • Meike Guenther, Lincoln University
  • Assoc. Prof. Dennis Wesselbaum, University of Otago