Applications sought for the tenth A R Bergstrom Prize in Econometrics by 24-Aug-12

Applications are now being sought for the tenth A R Bergstrom Prize in Econometrics.

The objective of the Prize is to reward the achievement of excellence in econometrics, as evidenced by a research paper in any area of econometrics. The Prize is open to New Zealand citizens or permanent residents of New Zealand who, on the closing date of applications, have current or recent (i.e. within two years) student status for a higher degree. It is intended that the awardee will utilise the proceeds to assist in financing further study or research in econometrics in New Zealand or overseas.

The Prize can be awarded once every two years, with its value currently being $2000. The selection committee will consist of Professors P C B Phillips, V B Hall and their nominees.

Applications/nominations must include:

• a formal letter of application and, in the case of students, a letter of nomination by their research adviser or chairperson

• a research paper written by a single author, reporting original research in any area of econometrics

• a CV and relevant academic transcripts

Applications should be emailed or posted by 24 August 2012, to:

Professor V B Hall
School of Economics and Finance
Victoria University of Wellington
P O Box 600 Wellington


The Prize is supported by funds generously provided by the following sponsors:

    Institutional Sponsors

The New Zealand Association of Economists
The School of Business and Economics at the University of Auckland
The Department of Economics at the University of Canterbury
The Faculty of Commerce and Administration at Victoria University of Wellington
Lincoln University
The Economics Group, Commerce Division at Lincoln University

    Personal Sponsors

C R Wymer
A D Brownlie
R J Bowden
H A Fletcher
R H Court
J A & D E A Giles
V B Hall
D M Emanuel
K B Nowman
P C B Phillips

In addition, royalties from the Festschrift Volume Models, Methods and Applications of Econometrics: Essays in Honour of A.R. Bergstrom, P.C.B. Phillips (ed.) Blackwell, Cambridge MA and Oxford UK, 1993, and from A Continuous Time Econometric Model of the United Kingdom with Stochastic Trends, by Albert Rex Bergstrom and Khalid Ben Nowman, Cambridge University Press, 2007, are applied to support the prize.